56 Comments

hi hi!

I'm Nisha, currently living on Tongva land aka Los Angeles. I followed you a long time ago on Twitter or IG, and then as I was going to library school I found out you were too, which was super exciting. Right now my cats are bringing me so much joy. I aspire to be them every day! I'm also loving listening to audiobooks.

Expand full comment
Jul 14, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Hi Lachrista, I'm Caitlin, currently living in Sebastopol, CA. I've been following your Instagram for a long time and I love your Substack!! Always so insightful and validating. I always get excited when I see your name in my inbox! I'm getting peace and joy at the moment from reading and spending time in the redwoods and at the beach on the Sonoma Coast, and ironically, from taking a break from Instagram :)

Expand full comment
Jul 13, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Hi there, my name is Kate. I've been moving around a bunch this past year, but soon to settle again in Savannah, GA. I honestly cannot remember how I found you, but I am glad I did. Your thoughtful newsletter is consistently one of my favorite reads! Right now, peace and joy is housesitting for my mom in Northwest Connecticut. She lives along a river and my only responsibility this week is to pet an ancient cat and sit in the sun :)

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Hi everybody, I'm Santiag, from Argentina (at South America); my personal account on Instagram is ssantiag.chlan so get along an follow me. I found you because of Substack recomendations; nowadays my peace and joy it's blooming from my med school and my political side. We have lots of riots and protests here, so there is a lot to fight for)

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Hi Lachrista and everyone, I'm Iz, living (mostly) in Toronto. I found you on IG, probably when someone shared one of your posts. I signed up for Substack specifically to follow you and Offshoot/A Growing Culture. I'm getting my peace and joy from planting a shared garden in my friends' house (we're excited about blue kabocha pumpkins), making playlists for every occasion, fermenting veggies, (lake) beach Fridays with friends and beer, and watching Jane the Virgin with my partner (my SIL binged on it before passing away 2 years ago, so this kinda connects us to her in a weird way)

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Hi Lachrista! My name is Caitlin (she/her) and I'm a flutist/flute teacher located in Montreal (Canada). I found you on Instagram a few years ago and started following your newsletter I think as soon as you posted about it. What's bringing me joy/peace right now is being outside when I can because thankfully the weather in Montreal hasn't been as atrocious as it usually is in the summer :) Unfortunately my roommate just tested positive for COVID so I won't be out and about until they're negative but I may go for walks at night just to breathe the fresh air. Thanks for all that you do, I'm a huuuge fan! <3

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

I'm Blythe - I'm the anti-violence advocate and an Associate Lecturer in Race, Gender and Sexuality Studies at the University of Wisconsin, La Crosse. I've followed you on social media for years and years and when I saw you had a Substack, I was like, "oh shit i'm definitely giving this person some money because they deserve it!" haha! My dog and books and coffee and air conditioning all bring me joy. <3

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

i’m holly (she/her) and i live in santa barbara ca! right now i’m on summer vacation in maine with my partner, our 6 year old, and our hamster 🐹, and that is bringing me a lot of joy. i love the water and the green, and i love that it’s nice and cool here. mt desert island is one of my favorite places in the world, and i feel so lucky that i get to be here this summer, as it’s been quite a while since we could travel.

i found you on IG and when you announced you were creating a substack i joined right away. i prefer the format over here, and enjoy engaging with my fave creators. IG can be so mean at times, and also the algorithm sucks.

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Hi. I'm Kathy. From New Hampshire

I think I found you on Instagram. And, I really like what you have to say about libraries and librarianship as well as feminism.

Meditation brings me peace. Great friends bring me joy.

Expand full comment

How do you do the little picture/emojis?

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

I'm just going by phezweb. Live in Wichita, KS, but have lived in other countries and states due to father being army vet.

I blog on here and love Robert Reich. It was in the suggested blog list I believe.

Books, books, so many books. My vision is already horrible and I feel like it's getting worse, all my texts on my phone have to be bigger and I need book lights, ha. I love reading, I'm so glad I got back into it. Usually romances, thriller/suspense/mystery, psychological thrillers are my favorite

It's real nice to chat with like minded individuals and feel safe knowing you won't be immediately attacked for your opinions :) I REALLY want a book club. I'm in a "book club" but usually only a couple of us read it and we just go out. I really want to talk to people, face to face, in a circle, drinking wine. Wow, I sound like I'm already 60 and I'm 36.

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Hello everyone!

I'm Kimberly, originally from the Midwest, though now I call Oregon home. I've been following GF for years, and Lachrista's posts are some of the few I still find valuable and not draining on Instagram, so I've loved having this newsletter system as I'm distancing myself from social media!

I'm trying to find soft, still moments during a hard summer. Right now, my joys have mostly come with snuggling my cats and dogs and decorating bookshelves in my new home. ❤️

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Kia ora koutou (hello everyone)!

1. I'm Danielle, I live in Aotearoa New Zealand.

2. I've been floating around for years, I think I found out about GF back when Guerrilla Feminism was a big Facebook group. A long time ago now! I've followed GF and Lachrista across quite a few platforms (that sounds slightly creepy, not intended to be!).

3. Reading is my comfort activity. I just finished "The Surgeon's Brain" by Oscar Upperton, which is a book of poetry about Dr James Barry, a Victorian surgeon who was also a trans man. My ultimate comfort series is Lord of the Rings and I finished my yearly re-read of that a few months ago. I also really enjoy scrolling mindlessly through TikTok, but it's becoming a bit compulsive and time-wastey, so I'm trying to cut back on it. Moderation and all that!

Expand full comment

I’m Doc in Tennessee.

(Some folks call me Teacherly or Gonzo, but Doc is fine!)

I think I found you through Nisha at The Healing Hype... but I am always on the lookout for somatic/self-care/feminist content, so it could have been from any number of places!

I find joy through teaching and learning from/with my students and I find joy being in nature (as long as there aren’t too many bugs 🙃) and I find joy in really great coffee and tea and food.

Thank you for this community, Lachrista and for everything you’re doing! 🧡

Expand full comment

Hi I’m Sophia, based in Edinburgh.

I found you through substack grow and felt it resonated :)

I’m going through a bad breakup right now but seeing my friends show up for me everyday, makes me feel supported and like I’m going to be okay. I’ve also started watching Downton Abbey. Its not a great show really but the way the English repress their feelings is somehow exactly what I need right now.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Steven from Long Island NY and you and a dozen other stacks were introduced to me by Substack when I signed up,

Yours was more interesting than most so I’m still here.

I’m an organic farmer and right now a lot of the results of months of hard work are starting g to bear fruit! Literally :)

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Hi!

I'm Daphne from Cologne, Germany.

I've been following you on Instagram and Twitter for years now. So glad you started this newsletter as well!

I'm sharing your enjoyment of coffee and rainy weather and am also at peace when walking my dog, creating playlists, writing letters to my penpals and phoning my grandparents.

Nice to meet everyone :)

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

Good morning!

1. My name is Sueleme (or Sway for short) and I am in Los Angeles!

2. I found you on Instagram but I cannot remember the exact moment I subscribed to your newsletter. lol

3. Painting!! It's been a difficult time these last few years and painting helps me block everything out and just be in a place where I have zero expectations and zero cares about how the end product will turn out. It's become my safe space to express myself in a messy, illogical, liberated way. I absolutely love it!

Expand full comment

Hiya -

1. Alex and I'm in los angeles

2. Honestly I have no idea - I went on a manic subscribe to all substacks phase that included subscribing to all of the recommended newsletters and I guess you popped up but I'm glad you did lol I dig the vibes here

3. My 1 year old son he's such a goober I love him so much when he yawns it sounds like the quietest little scream and fills me with indescribable joy every time

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2022Liked by Lachrista Greco

1. Diana and living in Hamtramck, MI (in Detroit l)

2. I know about you from THE COREPOWER DAYS which is another lifetime ago.

3. I’ve been feeding a litter of stray kittens in my backyard and it’s been giving me so much joy. It’s taking awhile but they’re slowly getting used to me and yesterday one came up and sat pretty close to me after dinner.

Qs. For you:

Have you ever done EMDR? If so, what was your experience?

Fave show you’re watching (aside from golden girls lol)!!

Expand full comment
author

I'll start it off!

What’s your name and where are you located?

Lachrista, Madison WI!

How did you find me/this publication?

Obvi, it's me, so, yeah.

What’s bringing you joy/peace right now?

Watching videos of my cute nephew, coffee, grey/rainy weather, friends

Expand full comment